The dimension of sadness

I used to see things in 2D

now dimensions cut skin deep.

~

Enjoying happiness like it was a given,

I now endure this sadness like it’s fresh.

If I’d suffered since the beginning,

I’d be currently withering at my limits

~

in the trauma of this nation,

negligent of aspirations,

rebellious against sanity,

and bare of any principles.

~

So, if I walk away from it all, does it cease?

Does everything disappear

if from my sight it’s clear?

~

All I see is through my eyes,

I have no idea of what’s not here.

But, when I turn back

and see the damage in my absence,

will I ever be able to return to indifference?

~

I have nowhere to run to if I’m running from myself,

and from relationships

contaminated by this sadness,

that demands acknowledgement.

~

I now understand why some pretend it’s not there,

keeping their words sanitised of emotion,

enjoying the oblivion

of living life like it’s fiction.

But we all have a responsibility to smile,

so is it irresponsibility

that makes sadness so difficult to resist?

~

Hell could be anywhere, hell could be here,

or this could be heaven to those who know fear.

~

SJL 18/08/20

One thought on “The dimension of sadness

Leave a comment